American Home Shield complaints: File a complaint to the corporate office?

A) Try to contact American Home Shield alone by yourself or...

B) Save time and effort: escalate your complaint to the corporate office with our help

Corporate Office Headquarters

150 Peabody Place Memphis TN 38103

Email

customercare@ahslink.com

Customer service number

(888) 682 1043

How the complaint process works on nonono.com?

Do you have a product complaint or an issue with a refund, return or something else? And you can't get through the American Home Shield complaint line to the American Home Shield help center?

Here's how you can escalate your issue:

File a complaint here on nonono.com for $9 We publish your complaint AND deliver it to the American Home Shield escalations department If American Home Shield doesn't get back to you within 3 days, you'll get a 100% refund

American Home Shield Resolution Reviews

William

star star star star star

June 27, 2022, 3:13 p.m.

Following these failed attempts to get any type of resolution (see complaint details below), I contacted No No No and had them file my complaint as they said they could get through the bureaucratic red tape to get my complaint heard within 24-48 hours. The next morning I had an email from the founder of No No No telling me the complaint was filed and had been read already. Two hours later I got a call from AHS following up on my complaint, telling me they already initiated action and gave me their direct line and said they would stay with the case until resolved. They put me in touch with their appliance department who immediately addressed the issue and provided me with replacement options. We decided to purchase locally and get reimbursed. The reimbursement check arrived within 2 weeks, about the same time our new range was delivered. We were very pleased with the quick response and resolution after all of our failed attempts to get any help with our problem up to that point. Only wished we knew about No No No before we got so frustrated and lost so much time. I would recommend them to anyone facing similar issues. I opened a service request on April 10th to have our range repaired. The assigned contractor was Sears, who subcontracts to A&E Service. They were prompt in showing up on April 12 to diagnose the problem. They ordered parts, which took several weeks to arrive. They came back on April 28th to complete the repairs. In the process of doing that, they discovered the bake element had fused to the panel part it was mounted to. In the process of trying to remove the fused element, the panel was damaged beyond repair. They said they would order that part and rescheduled us to May 7th. Then they rescheduled us to May 17th, then again to May 27th. During these repeated delays I kept trying to get a response from A&E, Sears and AHS as to what the delay was. All I was told was they were waiting for the part to arrive. In reality, what I subsequently learned was the part was never ordered as they could not find a part number. At this point, unable to get any assistance from your service team that was not simply repeating what I already knew, I made contact with Mark in your retention department.My contact was up for renewal, so I thought this was the only avenue available to me to get someone to try to help. Mark did just that. He reached out to Sears and after a couple days got an email response explaining the situation. I then said can we now move forward with options on how we are going to get a working range again, after almost 2 months without one? On May 27th, I ended up back with your Service department who said they needed an official diagnosis from Sears before they could move forward. I said the email Mark had should be enough. Ignoring that option, the service person put me on hold and said he would contact Sears. When he came back on the line, he said he made contact, they verified the situation and he now had everything he needed to compile a report to send to your Authorization department, which he said he did before we hung up. He said I would get an email in 24-48 hours. Even allowing for the weekend and Memorial day, I did not receive any emails from AHS. On May 31st, I then ended up back on the phone with another service person from AHS. After relating the entire story again, I was told they would have to contact Sears and get an official diagnosis before they could do anything. Totally frustrated at this point, I reiterated this was already done last Friday, or so I was told by the previous agent, on May 27th. No matter what I said, it made no difference. I was assured it would be escalated and I would have a response by EOB on the 31st. Needless to say, I received no emails or any response from AHS. SInce my contract was expiring on June 1st, and since I thought the problem was resolved the previous Friday, I actually renewed my contract, in good faith, on May 31st before I had the conversation with your service department again. Foolish me. I called again on June 1st and or June 2nd. I tried your retention department again as that was the only place where someone actually did what they said they would do. I spoke to Chris, employee number 752911, assuming this was actually his name and employee number. Forgive my skepticism at this point. I got the same exact story from him, i.e. I need to contact Sears to get their official diagnosis before we can do anything. AT which point after multiple pointless efforts to explain this was the third or fourth time I had been told this same BS. He assured me he would personally follow up and make sure this gets properly resolved.I have heard nothing since. We are now 4 days away from not having a working range for two months. This is totally unacceptable and the lack of performance from your service department members as well as A&E Service, aka Sears in not divulging sooner that they could not get the part is unforgivable as far as customer service is concerned So how do I get a working range sooner than later? Checking the market, a like replacement is about 2 months out in terms of availability, so that would put us at 4 months without a working range. I don't know about you, but this is a huge inconvenience to my family.

Latest Resolution Reviews Of Other Businesses

American Home Shield Latest Complaints

Problems with AHS - Washing Machine & Air Conditioner

Sept. 29, 2022, 12:42 p.m. by Mark

I have two different unresolved issues. They are as follows: WASHING MACHINE 1. Called in a service request on the washing machine on 9/20/2022. 2. Repair call set up for 9/23/2022. 3. I discover on 9/23/2022 that AHS has communicated to the A&E repair company that my refrigerator instead of my washer needs repair when the tech calls to let me know he is en route to repair my refrigerator. Service call canceled. 4. Call AHS the same day to complain, when I ask if AHS will reimburse me the money it will cost to wash my clothes since the new service request will not be until 9/26/2023 The representative volunteers that the $108.25 service fee charge would be refunded & I WOULD NOT BE CHARGED A NEW SERVICE FEE. 5. My bank account was charged a new $108.25 service charge on 9/26/2022 for washing machine repair. 6. Call AHS to complain about the new charge and explain the situation to the representative. The Representative informs me that a supervisor will review audio tapes of the phone call I made on 9/23/2022 & call me back within 24 hours. 7. Never received a phone call from a supervisor. I have called every day on this issue without any resolution. AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM LEAKING WATER IN ATTIC 1. I have been trying to get this issue resolved since 9/9/2022. 2. As of 9/29/2022 this issue has not been resolved by AHS. I have placed seven phone calls to AHS to get a resolution to this problem. 3. NO RESOLUTION TO DATE. SUMMARY 1. I want all service charges refunded ($324.75) related to the repair of my washing machine & AC system. I want my AC system repaired immediately. .

No water day 18

Sept. 28, 2022, 3 p.m. by Carrie

I’m reaching out in hopes to bring light to American Home Shield Warranty Company and their Scam. We filed our first ever claim the morning of September 12th, 2022 for our broken Water Heater. We were contacted later that evening by AHS through a video call and were instructed to take a video of our water heater at the direction of the technician to assess the damage. We were also told that we had been assigned to their vendor, Whitney Plumbing and that someone would be reaching out to us to schedule a service call once we paid the $100 “service fee" for which we promptly paid. We received an email from Whitney Plumbing on Wednesday the 14th notifying us that our technician was “on his way”. Lie #1 There was never a service technician dispatched to our home. Instead, we received another Video call this time from Whitney Plumbing where we were again directed by a technician to video the broken water heater. On Friday the 16th, we were notified by Whitney Plumbing that we were being charged another $364 for “modifications” that needed to be made for the new water heater. When we asked specifically for what “modification’s” were needed no one could tell us. We were simply told that the Whitney technician communicated his findings from the video call back to AHS and AHS made the determination that these “modifications” were necessary and not covered by our home warranty contract. That was Lie #2. We were also told that if we did not pay the $364 they would not order the new Hot Water Heater. We reached out to AHS for an explanation for this extra charge and 3 different service reps could not tell us what “modifications” actually were required for the installation. One of the reps actually admitted that they had no idea what a “flue” was but “something” was wrong with it and it would not be covered. We asked to speak with a supervisor and were promptly transferred, Lie #3. We later found out that the employees in the call center at AHS can not reach Supervisors via phone. They actually have to complete a form for a supervisor to contact customers. I digress. The pretend supervisor we spoke to on Friday told us the exact same thing, “modifications are not covered” and when we pressed on specifics, she had no answer, she just kept quoting some scripted response. So, I asked to speak to her Supervisor. I was told Supervisors were not available but she would send in a request on our behalf, Lie #4. No supervisor ever contacted us. At this point (Day 5) we have been without any water, hot or cold because any time we turned the cold water on it flooded the basement. Here’s some context to our living situation. We have no water to flush toilets, wash our hands, cook, do the dishes or laundry and no water to shower. And add another Bonus, we ended up in the ER earlier that week (9/14) Positive for COVID-19. This was our first time contracting the virus so we had no idea what to expect, we are in our 50’s. We were very sick, and quarantined to a house with no running water. We were so sick and exhausted between COVID and fighting with Whitney and AHS for straight answers that we acquiesced and paid the $364 mystery fee on Friday 9/16 so that Whitney would at least order the new Water heater. The following week we were again in a battle with Whitney and AHS because the earliest they could schedule the delivery and installation of the new water heater was Friday, September 23rd. And there was still the matter of the mystery modifications $364 fee we were forced to pay if we had any hopes of getting our water back on. We made multiple calls to Whitney & AHS and again requested a supervisor call us back. No One Ever Called us Back. So now we have had no water for 12 days and we’re quarantined with COVID. When we absolutely needed to flush toilets one of us would have to go down to the basement (1868 home with a creepy Michigan basement) and turn the water on while the other person ran up and down stairs to flush both toilets. Still no showering. Friday the 23rd, we finally had a technician physically enter our house. He went down to the basement and immediately said, the water heater they ordered would not work because the old venting was not up to code! And there was the mystery explanation of the extra $364 charge, building code issues. Which leads to Lie # I’ve lost count! We paid extra for Building code issues and necessary repairs to make all covered items legally compliant. So AHS labeled the Building Code issues “modifications” so they would not have to cover them. TOTAL SCAM! So, it’s 12 noon, Friday the 23rd and we still have no hot water. Earlier in the week out of sheer desperation my husband researched how to temporarily stop the water heater from flooding. He had to go to Home Depot buy (more money we had to spend for an AHS warranty job) plumbing tools and supplies to cut the pipes leading to the water heater and then cap them off. So for now, we are boiling water to do basic daily living essentials. The technician tells us that he has to return the hot water tank to Home Depot and send in his notes to Whitney for what is needed to properly replace our hot water heater and then Whitney will forward the information on to AHS for authorization. At 2:30 pm we reach out to AHS to make sure the correct information was received and the correct materials are ordered. We we finally get through to someone at AHS we are told they have no information about any problems and that the claim is closed. We immediately call Whitney to find out why AHS knew nothing about the installation problem and Whitney tells us they know nothing either, it’s now Friday at 4:00 pm. The Whitney rep tells us she’s “going to get right on this’ and hopes to have it resolved before they close at 5:00pm. In the meantime we reach out to AHS Corporate Headquarters and have to leave a message 5:00pm comes and goes and no one has called with anything. We are at our wits end so we reach out to the Better Business Bureau and file a complaint. AHS is a member of the BBB so we were hoping they might be able to get this resolved on our behalf. Saturday afternoon we received an email from the BBB letting us know our complaints has been received and they have reached out to AHS. Monday, September 26 day #15, still no water heater. No call from Whitney, no call from AHS, and no call from AHS Corporate. We get back on the phone and start calling… for context every call to Whitney takes 35-50 minutes on hold before reaching an actual person and AHS takes at least 45 minutes. Still no one can tell us if the new water heater has been ordered, neither Whitney nor AHS. What we did learn is that once AHS approves the new heater and supplies needed to address the code issues related to the installation the best we can hope for is October 5th. Next call is to the Michigan Attorney General where we file our next complaint. During one of our calls to AHS on Monday we did learn about the actual form that must be completed in order to get a supervisor to call us back. Thankfully, this rep was telling the truth and he actually completed the form on our behalf. 4:00pm we get a call from an actual Supervisor at AHS. And again, the run around ensues. No answers, no timeline, no response to the Building Code Issues being disguised as “modifications”. We are told he would get back to us, wait for it…. Not the next day but Wednesday the 28th. It is 1:36 pm on Wednesday, September 28th. We have been on hold with Whitney 3 times for over an hour each time, left multiple messages and still have not spoken to anyone, we even tried the billing department! We called AHS and when we got someone on the phone they again had no information about approving the proper supplies and the status of our claim is “completed”. They can’t do anything until they hear from Whitney about the problem which boils down to finger pointing between Whitney and AHS. And we still have no answers. We have also left 3 messages with AHS Corporate and Nothing. And, we have reached out to the BBB again for assistance (waiting for a return call). As a last resort, we are reaching out to you at ABC12. Any assistance with this matter would be greatly appreciated! We hope that no one will ever have to deal with this company again. Update: We have called AHS Corporate again (call #5 if you lost track). We got creative and chose the option to “purchase a New Home Warranty” and magically a live person, be it a sales person actually answered the phone. She accessed our records and reviewed them, understood the issue but refused to connect us to anyone with authority to assist. Instead we were transferred back to the general customer service desk who once again is giving us the runaround. No One Can Reach Whitney, are they out of business?? When we asked if we can now please be assigned to a new vendor we are told they have to document three unsuccessful attempts at reaching Whitney first, then they have to refer our situation to the “Vendor Contract managers” who will then review the problem and then make a decision on how to proceed. In the meantime, day #18 No Hot Water, nothing has been ordered, I’ve paid $650 in premiums this year, $100 service call & $364 for Mystery Charges. Thank you for listening, Greg Blanchard & Carrie Price 106 E Rockwell St, Fenton 425-922-9409 Blanchgsb@gmail.com

AHS Not Complying with Contract

Sept. 27, 2022, 1:40 p.m. by Katherine

My 14 year old HVAC stopped working on September 14th. The tech that came out said the entire unit is in really bad shape but the main reason it is not cooling is that the coil is leaking. I was told AHS would cover patching the coil and that I would need to spend $1,080 on coolant. If I was lucky, that patch would hold. If not, the would replace the coil and I would need to pay another $1,080 for coolant at that point. Turns out patching is only a new thing since coils are not readily available. Patching a coil is also not recommended. I complained and complained and finally they agreed to cover the replacement of the entire interior air handler because they could not get a coil. I told them it would need to be a Trane to match the outside component. They agreed. But, now they are planning to install a Goodman. This is a major issue because my contract states they must replace the unit with a comparable quality unit, and Goodman is the lowest quality on the market and Trane (what I have) is the top of the market. The other issue is that it is highly recommended not to mix brands. Because they are not willing to replace the entire HVAC, they should at least put a Trane air handler in. They told me they would. They lied. I even called the Trane supplier in the area and they said they could get me one, so this is not a supply issue. In addition to the HVAC issue, I have an open plumbing issue that has been pending for 2 years and they keep assigning the same non-responsive plumber who never shows up. They told me they would refund my appointment fee over a year ago, and they still haven't. The plumber lies and says I don't answer the phone or return calls. They are refusing to assign a new plumber. The plumber has similar bad review online. Last, I have am issue with a ceiling fan. The blades are damages or loose and are hitting the light attachment. Even though my contract states all fan parts are covered, they will not cover this as it does not fit their definition of a mechanical issue. I am not sure why not...

AHS complaint resolution statistics

  • 191 complaints filed

  • Resolution rating 4.6 / 5

  • Customers willing to do business again 85%

American Home Shield Description

American Home Shield Corporation (AHS) is an American home warranty company. It administers home warranty contracts on major home systems and appliances. The company’s corporate headquarters is located in the heart of downtown Memphis, Tennessee.

In 2018, the American Home Shield business was spun off under Frontdoor, Inc., a new, publicly traded company on the NASDAQ (ticker symbol FTDR). American Home Shield serves over 2 million customers across 49 states and the District of Columbia. It is one of the largest home warranty providers in the United States. As of 2022, the company has 2,000 employees and responds to roughly 5 million service requests each year. The company works with over 16,000 independent contractor firms and 60,000 technicians in the U.S.

American Home Shield CEO is Bill Cobb. He became chief executive officer of Frontdoor in June 2022 in addition to his role as Chairman of the Board of Directors and is passionate about accelerating the company’s digital transformation, advancing the customer experience, and strengthening core business processes.

Sources: Wikipedia, AHS Website

What is No No No?

No No No is a consumer advocacy website that helps consumers file and resolve complaints with American Home Shield.

Our mission is to improve the relationship between businesses and consumers and to advocate for transparency.

If you need to resolve an issue with American Home Shield Corporate, you can file a public complaint on No No No and we will deliver your complaint to American Home Shield and ask them to resolve your issue. In return, after you have had your complaint resolved, we will ask you to write a resolution review based on the outcome of the resolution.

The reason we are operating this way is that a) it incentivizes American Home Shield to resolve your issue and b) your resolution review help other consumers more than 'regular reviews' that do not tell the whole story.

It is the outcome that matters, right?